• home
  • Scientific Program
  • Young Researchers Meeting

Young Researchers Meeting

The New dates of Young Researchers Meeting is July 17-18, 2021.
Updated schedule and Registration will be announced later.

Welcome to the home page of the Pre-meeting for New Researchers to the Bernoulli-IMS 10th World Congress in Probability and Statistics. This event is hosted at Rose Room, Hoam Faculty House (Go to Hoam Faculty House) in the Seoul National University (SNU) campus on August 15-16, 2020.

The two-day 2020 pre-meeting dedicates the first day to the academic theme of Data Science. The second day is dedicated to a series of presentations and group discussions that pertain to career development.

The objectives of the pre-meeting in 2020 are:

  1. 1.To stimulate interest of international young researchers in a rapidly emerging field.
  2. 2.To give support and perspective to young researchers with regard to mapping out their future career - especially for participants from developing countries.
  3. 3.To allow young researchers with common research interests to network amongst their peer group.

Young Researchers from economically developing countries (as per the World Bank classification) intending to participate in this pre-meeting can directly apply for potential funding support from the European Mathematical Society Committee for Developing Countries (Go to EMS-CDC)

-Organizing committee:
Bibhas Chakraborty (National University of Singapore and Duke University) (Chair)
Jialiang Li (National University of Singapore)
Chae Young Lim (Seoul National University)
Ander Wilson (Colorado State University)
Kyusang Yu (Konkuk University)


  • -Deadline for Registration: by July 18, 2020
  • -Registration fee: €40 (₩50,000 for local attendees)
  • -Payment Exemption: Anyone registered for the WC2020 doesn't have to pay the registration fee for Young Researchers Meeting.
  • -How to pay
    • For overseas: We only accept payment through PayPal. You can use your existing PayPal account or pay by credit card even if you don’t have a PayPal account.
    • For local attendees: Please deposit a fee to the designated account.
  • -Cancellation and refund policy: Written requests for cancellation should be sent by email (bern.ims.wc2020@gmail.com) and all bank charges for remittance must be paid by the registrant. You can get 70% of the registration fee if the cancellation request is made by July 4, 2020 and 0% from July 5, 2020.
  • -If you have questions, contact us at bern.ims.wc2020@gmail.com

Saturday, August 15, Data Science

09:00-09:45 Registration
09:45-10:00 Welcome: Bibhas Chakraborty
(National University of Singapore and Duke University)
10:00-11:00 Plenary Talk: Song-Xi Chen
(Iowa State University and Peking University)
11:00-11:30 Coffee Break
11:30-12:30 Invited Talk: Yunjin Choi (University of Seoul)
12:30-14:00 Lunch
14:00-16:40 Mini Talks:
(up to 8 mini-talks, each of length 15 minutes)
  • 1. Nina Deliu (University of Rome La Sapienza)
  • 2. Yan Shuo Tan (University of California, Berkeley)
  • 3. Nina Holden (ETH Zurich)
  • 4. Anirban Basak (International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Bangalore)
  • 5. Gi-Soo Kim (Seoul National University)
  • 6. Kunwoo Kim (Pohang University of Science and Technology)
  • 7. Wooseok Ha (University of California, Berkeley)
  • 8. Marianne Menictas (Harvard University)
16:40-17:00 Coffee Break
17:00-18:00 Invited Talk: Myunghee Cho Paik (Seoul National University)
18:00 Reception

Sunday, August 16, Career Day

09:30-10:30 Plenary Talk: Susan Murphy (Harvard University, and President-IMS)
10:30-11:00 Invited Talk: Claudia Kluppelberg (Technical University Munich, and President-Bernoulli Society)
11:00-11:30 Coffee Break
11:30-12:00 Invited Talk: Parthanil Roy (Indian Statistical Institute, and Bernoulli-Youth Representative)
12:00-12:30 Invited Talk "Gender and Diversity Matters in Academia”: Andreas Kyprianou (University of Bath)
12:30-14:00 Lunch
14:00-15:00 Poster Session: Young Researchers (each presenter will give a 2-minute advertisement talk, and then stand next to the poster)
15:00-16:00 Panel Discussion: Challenges of Young Researchers in Developing Countries
Panel Members:
  • 1. Parthanil Roy (Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore)
  • 2. Bikramjit Das (Singapore University of Technology and Design)
  • 3. Anupap Somboonsavatdee (Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok)
  • 4. Andreas Kyprianou (University of Bath)
16:00-16:30 Coffee Break
16:30-17:00 Announcement of Awards for Poster Session: Andreas Kyprianou (University of Bath)
17:00-17:30 Floor Discussion: Closing Questions and Comments